FeistyEnterprises

Making all kinds of messes

Trying to Love – Salads

Part of my becoming a grown-up criteria includes eating salads.
I didn’t grow up eating fresh vegetables, mostly because my dad didn’t like them and my mom grew up thinking they were dirty and that canned veggies were more sanitary.  FYI, that is not a good way to raise children who eat veggies.

So I’ve been working on it.  And salads aren’t that bad.  They just don’t taste as awesome as, say, chips and salsa.

Enter Lettuce in Your Kitchen : Flavorful and Unexpected Main-Dish Salads and Dressings.  I picked it up by chance at Half Price Books, and have loved it ever since.

They have salads with meat, salads without meat, and I haven’t had one yet that I didn’t like.  Some I liked better than others, but that’s true of everything.  One of my favorites involved chicken and peaches with a mustardy-vinaigrette dressing.  I never ever would have put any of those things together on my own.

What’s your favorite random salad pairing?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

